Let’s Get Saucy

IMG_6996_mod_640

I promise the title is as racy as this post will get!  Since going AIP, I’ve found condiments the hardest thing to work around, but I’ve slowly accumulated some tasty recipes that work well in place of the standard, inflammatory-promoting sauces and condiments with which we’re all so familiar.  Here are a few of my favourites!

DSCN5242Salad Dressing

I don’t remember the last time I bought salad dressing.  And you know what, I really don’t miss it.  I was in the practice of making my own salad dressing long before I went AIP.  I just found it more flavourful and I felt better about knowing exactly what was (and was not!) in it.  I’m quite happy to pass on the canola and/or soybean oil, mineral oil, sugar, xanthan gum, “natural” flavours, and “spices” in favour of health-boosting extra virgin olive oil and sea salt!  Here is my basic balsamic vinaigrette recipe:

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinaigrette (just make sure it is sugar- and additive-free)
  • pinch of sea salt, to taste

Simply shake up until well-mixed and pour over your favourite salad.

There are many ways to customize this recipe, too!  White wine vinegar in place of the balsamic goes great with an Aisian-inspired dish.  Red wine vinegar pairs well with a fruity salad.  Lemon juice also works well in place of the vinegar if you want to pack in some of the benefits of lemon.  Likewise, apple cider vinegar also adds a nice twist in addition to its many health benefits.  Rosemary, oregano, thyme, or basil mixed in and allowed to sit for a day or two adds a nice infusion of herby goodness.  My most recent batch of kombucha was left to ferment a little too long, so it is now destined to become kombucha vinegar and I hope to add it into my salad dressing line-up soon!

DSCN5097Creamy Alfredo Sauce

Mmmm, alfredo.  I think one of the reasons Scott married me was for my smoked salmon alfredo.  It really was amazing.  Of course I used the heaviest cream I could find and only fresh-grated Parmesan would do.  Ah, those were the days…

Once on the AIP, I wanted to find as close a substitute as possible.  What I came up with was something that even Scott LOVES!  And it’s sooo much less work (and cheaper) than traditional dairy-based alfredo sauce!

  • 1 large head cauliflower
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon mace

Chop and steam cauliflower until tender.  Puree in food processor with remaining ingredients until smooth.  Serve with seafood of choice (or chicken would be good too) over zucchini noodles.

See, I told you it was easy!

Orange Sauce

This was a favourite condiment in my fridge in my pre-AIP days.  It just goes so well with everything – fish, seafood, chicken, turkey, duck, pork.  I mean, who doesn’t like orange sauce?  I smell an orange chicken recipe coming up!  It may not be Panda Express, but it’s a whole lot healthier!

  • 1 cup light-coloured broth (chicken, turkey, fish, etc.)
  • 3 cups orange juice
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup coconut aminos
  • zest of 2 medium oranges
  • 1″ piece of fresh ginger, grated
  • 1/2 cup palm sugar (to taste)
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder
  1. Combine broth, juice, vinegar, and coconut aminos in a medium sauce pan on med/low heat. Once liquid is warm, add orange zest, ginger, sugar, and salt. Stir to dissolve. Simmer uncovered to reduce by at least half. Remove from heat.
  2. Dissolve arrowroot powder in a little bit of water and stir into sauce to thicken.

May-no-naise

Chicken salad without mayo is kind of lack lustre in my opinion.  It just needs that creamy tanginess to bring it all together and make it taste like  chicken salad is supposed to taste.  And so I created my avocado-based may-no-naise to fill the gap.  It’s creamy, it’s tangy, and it’s probably the closest thing I’ve tasted to regular mayo since I’ve gone AIP despite the green colour.  Plus, it works really well for chicken (or tuna) salad nori wraps!

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon avocado oil
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, to taste

Puree all ingredients in a food processor until extremely smooth and creamy.  Mix with salad ingredients, or use for dipping sweet potato fries or left-over roast chicken.  It even stores well in the fridge for several days.

I hope these sauce recipes help give a boost of variety to your AIP recipe line-up.  They certainly helped me battle the boring!


This post has been shared on Thank Goodness It’s Monday, Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday, Tickle My Tastebuds Tuesday, Fat Tuesday, Phoenix Helix AIP Recipe RoundtableAllergy Free Wednesday, and Full Plate Thursday!

This post was featured on Phoenix Helix AIP Recipe Roundtable!

15 thoughts on “Let’s Get Saucy

Add yours

  1. I’m going to try the alfredo sauce someday. If you can’t use dairy (like me) then there is tofu (yuck!) so I’ve been missing alfredo. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. oh wow – this is the answer to my prayers! We’re avoiding eggs and dairy and this is perfect! Thank you so much for posting this! 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m so glad that this will be helpful for you! It can be quite an adjustment to cut out major foods and everything that goes with them. I know I was surprised by how much I missed mayo. Best of luck and enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

