Hot Coco

Fall is once again upon us, and, with (Canadian) Thanksgiving in our rearview, the Christmas decorations are not so slowly starting to make their presence known.

Last holiday season, I was still so new to AIP that the idea of creating things like cookies and drinks never even crossed my mind.  I was far more focused on what on Earth I was going to serve at these major holiday meals that I would also be able to eat.  Who had time for the little luxuries?!  If I’d known then just how easy it could be, I wouldn’t have put it off for so long!

As much as I love the red raspberry leaf tea I’ve been guzzling during pregnancy, I was ready for something different the other night.  I had two cups of homemade coconut milk left over after making Turkey à la King and a real craving for chocolate.  I can’t describe what it’s like to have a chocolate pregnancy craving and not be able to do anything about it!

Now chocolate is one of those foods that was dicey for me before going AIP.  Some brands of chocolate didn’t seem to bother me, while others made my pulse race – not a fun feeling.  As such, I’m not going to mess with chocolate until I’m at a point where I can do a proper evaluation of how my body reacts to it (i.e. not while growing a little human).  That means it’s up to the carob powder to satisfy those cravings!

I must say it did the trick this time!  The perfect accompaniment to a lovely foot rub by my darling husband.

Hot Coco

  • 2 cups full fat coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon carob powder
  • 1 teaspoon maple syrup (to taste)
  • dash of cinnamon (optional)

 

  1. Heat coconut milk in a small saucepan until starting to steam.
  2. Stir in carob powder, maple syrup, and cinnamon.  Allow to heat for another minute or two to bring out the flavours.
  3. Pour into a large mug, top with one (or more) of these fantastic AIP marshmallows, and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

