Whew!

260340_10150302306245993_1087346_n

Well, folks, year one of parenting is officially on the books.  And what a year it has been!

I know you haven’t heard from me in a while.  Sorry about that, but sometimes life really does get in the way.  It does NOT mean that I have forgotten about Where the Wild Rose Grows or given up on it (or any of you!).  To the contrary, my fingers have been itching to get back to my humble little blog for some time with everything I have to share.  So here I am (finally…)!

When last I posted, Scott had been unemployed for quite some time and things were looking a little dire around here.  But the Lord provides and shortly after my last post, Scott received an offer in the charming little city of Red Deer, Alberta.  For those not familiar with Red Deer, it is a city of approximately 100,000 people located in Central Alberta between Edmonton and Calgary.  It was a big change for us after having spent the last 10+ years in Calgary, but we had been feeling that a change was coming, and relocating to Red Deer is certainly more in line with our end goal of rural farm life.

And so the relocation process began.  Rental shopping, address changing, sorting, packing, selling, long distance relationship/single parenting during the week (I have a new-found respect for all you single parents out there!), preparing our Calgary condo to sell (including all those little projects we had put off for so long), travelling solo with Little Miss to visit my family, etc.  And having to navigate it all with AIP dietary restrictions, still trying to figure out this whole new mom thing with some postpartum anxiety thrown in, severe lack of sleep that comes with parenting, but especially parenting a high needs child, and it was not a good mix for my health.  My thyroid crashed and my health took a hit, and Little Miss and I were forced to join Scott in Red Deer sooner than we had anticipated.

By December things had settled for us somewhat.  My health was still a struggle, but I was regaining ground, our condo was finally listed and sold in a surprisingly short amount of time, and we had the joy and privilege of celebrating Little Miss’s very first Christmas!  She wasn’t old enough to understand it all, but she was definitely old enough to be excited about the gifts under the tree and opening them (at least the first one or two anyways).

Unfortunately, the New Year brought a variety of cold and flu bugs through the house, mostly compliments of Little Miss’s strengthening immune system, but she bounced through it all like a champ.  On a happier note, we celebrated our accomplishment of keeping a tiny human alive and (mostly) healthy and happy for a year by going swimming as a family, followed by Little Miss’s favourite meal, Balsamic Liver Lettuce Boats, and topped it off with mouth-watering birthday carrot cake.

2017 has also brought about some new developments on the “business” side of the Jones’ household.  With our move to Red Deer, I was not going to be able to return to my firm in Calgary.  I am so very thankful for the time I spent there.  I learned and grew professionally and personally, and I had the honour to work with some fantastic people that I will miss.  Given my recent health challenges and the fact that both Scott and I feel very strongly about Little Miss being home with me, I am very blessed to be taking on a new career as a stay-at-home mummy on a permanent basis.

Now that spring has almost sprung here in Central Alberta and Little Miss is gaining independence every day, I can finally start to schedule some much-needed Rheagan time back into my life, which includes more time here.  I’m looking forward to getting back to sharing my journey with you once again!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

