When Reintroductions Go Right (and a recipe)

Cover Image

Nothing says summer like a frosty margarita, complete with fresh-squeezed lime juice.   There’s just something about the sweet and salty and sour all coming together for one big party in your mouth. My mouth is watering just thinking about…

Before starting the autoimmune protocol for myself, I had conducted a different elimination diet on myself which involved eliminating citrus, among other AIP-approved foods known to be problematic.  Imagine my shock and dismay when I went to reintroduce lemons and suffered violent gastrointestinal distress at even the smallest amount of lemon juice!  Oranges and grapefruit were no problem, but the lemons got me good.

DSCN7018

After that, it made me very nervous to try limes.  The only rationale in my head was that limes look like mini-lemons and the two were closely associated in my mind.  Since mental angst about a reintroduction can induce a reaction, I knew I would need to wait until I was mentally ready to give those little green guys a go.

It’s taken my three years to get here, but when we found organic limes on sale at the local grocery store (in the middle of the wide open prairie!) for $1.00/lb, I figured I was as ready as I would ever be and stocked up!  After all, Scott would happily make use of them if I couldn’t.

That first taste was delicious and terrifying all at the same time.  It took a great deal of self-control to follow the proper reintroduction protocol, but I got through it without incident.  Limes are officially, successfully reintroduced and back in action and I wanted to share this recipe to celebrate!

Margarita Fat Bombs Pin

With 30-40C weather predicted for this week and no air conditioning in our south-facing, second-story apartment right above the boiler room, I figured it was time for a little margarita in our lives in the form of these fat bombs.  Plus Little Miss loves them, and I’m never going to say no to healthy fats that fuel a growing brain!

I hope you enjoy these as much as I (and Little Miss) do!

Margarita Fat Bombs

  • 1- 1.5 cup coconut oil, melted (amount will depend on how absorbent your coconut flour is)
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • juice of one lime (approximately 1 tablespoon)
  • zest of one lime (optional – leaving the zest out will create a more mild lime taste)
  • pinch of dirty (grey, pink, black, etc.) salt, to taste
  • maple syrup, to taste (optional – no more than about two tablespoons if you do use)
  1. Whisk all ingredients together in a bowl.
  2. Portion out into silicon muffin cups and refrigerate until solid. I usually do about two tablespoons of batter per fat bomb, and it makes about eight of them.
  3. Pop out of muffin cups and store in an air-tight container in the fridge.
  4. Enjoy!

DSCN7020

7 thoughts on “When Reintroductions Go Right (and a recipe)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

